Gluten-free All-Purpose Flour Blend

All-purpose gluten-free flour mix

Hi, y’all! I am really willing to bet that if you’re seeing this it’s because you put the feed in your reader. Anyhoo, long-dormant apologetic blog posts are all the rage in the post-Twitter age. So, I’ll assume you’ve read it before. On to the content.

I’ve been futzing with gluten-free flour blends because I’m not usually in the mood to measure out 3-5 different flours when I’m trying to make pancakes on a weekend morning, so over the pas year, I’ve finally settled upon one.

I just recently got a kitchen scale, and in just a few weeks, I’ve found it truly helps with making the base flour mix far more consistent when the weight remains the same across batches, instead of by volume. To be fair, I still measure things like pancakes etc cetera by volume mostly because I haven’t gotten around to conversions yet. What does that make me? Lazy! Inconsistent!

What I like about this one is that it’s still pretty light and it makes a nice consistency, fairly similar to regular all-purpose flour. It’s about 2/3 whole grain flours and 1/3 starch to keep it from being too dense, but has a whole-grainy nutty flavor. I have to say. however, it does have a taste, I think especially if you are not used to eating gluten-free flours. It’s not a flavor-neutral flour, but I rather love it. I substitute it 1:1 for regular flour in non-gluten free recipes. If you use xanthan gum, you will need to add it to your recipes to bind the baked good together.

For those of you who don’t have a scale, I usually use a single measuring cup and make this in volume ratios. For the amounts I’m listing below, I used the 1/3 cup. And, as always, make sure your flours are gluten free. (I use Bob’s Red Mill for the brown rice, sorghum, and tapioca flours. I use the Arrowhead Mills millet flour. Mostly Arrowhead Mills is a little less expensive, but I find their brown rice flour is SUUUPER gritty, and can’t usually find their tapioca or sorghum in-stock.

Heather’s sorta fussy gluten-free flour mix
(Makes about 8 1/3 cups of flour)

Volume ratios:
4 parts sorghum flour
4 parts millet flour
8 parts brown rice flour
9 parts tapioca starch

Weight:
135g sorghum flour
175g millet flour
350g brown rice flour
350g tapioca starch

Mix the flours in a large bowl with a whisk and store in a dry, cool place. (I use my 1 gallon glass jar because it makes me happy. I store my rice in a jar like this too — just like my mom! — and have never had a problem with moisture).

Leave a comment