Bandwagon Buttermilk Blackberry Cake

Blackberry Buttermilk Cake, baked

Between gourmet magazine having a buttermilk raspberry cake, Smitten Kitchen having a version of the cake, Yahaira making the cake, it seems everyone and their mama is making this cake.

Blackberries, ahoy!

So I decided to hop on the bandwagon too.  I was going to do a post about an awesome lemon cake made with rosemary-infused olive oil (seriously! It was good!), but my camera battery was dead and I didn’t have any pictures of the cake before I brought it to the barbeque.  So I’ll do that bad boy later when I can make it and take pictures.

Blackberry Buttermilk Cake

This was delicious. Seriously. Light, light, light, the right amount of moisture, the right amount of crumb. Stupid tasty. Do the kids still say that? I find myself at that odd point where you realize you’re just not in touch with the college set anymore.

[Not that it’s a bad thing, really, but I’m afraid I’ll be wearing polyester slacks, and saying “fo’ SHIZZLE!” to a bunch of 19 year olds and asking them to slip me some skin. But I digress.]

It was a lot like a coffee cake, but that may have been just me who thought that (um, okay, that’s a total lie – Pants said it too). And then topped with homemade whipped cream? Mmmm…

 Blackberry Buttermilk Cake

And really, try this with any summer fruit – it would be lovely with any of the other berries, but maybe nectarines or apricots? Could be awesome!

Buttermilk Blackberry cake – gluten-free
Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

1 cup gluten-free flour mix (I used 1/4 c millet, 1/4 c sweet rice, 1/4 c tapioca starch, 1/4 c potato starch)
1/4 scant TEASPOON xanthan gum
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 stick unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoons sugar, divided
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon finely grated lemon zest (optional)
1 large egg, room temperature
1/2 cup well-shaken buttermilk, room temperature
1 cup fresh blackberries

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees, grease and flour a 9 inch cake pan (regular or springform – your choice! Free will!).

Sift together the flours, xanthan gum, baking powder, baking soda and salt, and set aside. In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugar for about 2 minutes, so they’re well combined and light in color and texture. Add the egg and the vanilla, and mix well. (Did you know that most recipes add egg at the same time as vanilla? If not, that’s nifty to know in case someone – i.e., me – winds up forgetting to mention adding the vanilla. I think it has to do with eggs binding fats so that you can mix oil and water. If you watch Alton Brown, you know what I’m talking about.)

Add the flour mixture in thirds, alternating with the buttermilk. Blend just completely, and then stop. Put the batter in the prepared pan, even up the top and chuck your blackberries in. If you’re like me (or Deb, evidently), you start to get a tic if they’re not more or less evenly distributed. All of my berries were swallowed into the cake, so there was no dimpliness to be had.

Bake in preheated oven for 20-25 minutes (mine was 20 minutes on the dot), until golden brown and a cake tester comes out clean.

Cool in the pan for about ten minutes, run a knife around the outside of the pan, and turn out of the pan, cool completely on a rack. Serve plain or with a dollop of fresh whipped cream.

Or cool MOST of the way and serve slightly warm with vanilla ice cream.

Now why didn’t I think of that earlier?

2 responses to “Bandwagon Buttermilk Blackberry Cake

  1. wow. that looks awesome. can i borrow you for a weekend? thanks.

  2. Okay. But you have to come up here… you have me frightened that your house has no walls or floors what with all the Home Depoting you’re doing…

Leave a Reply

