lilacs in bloom


i don’t pay a lot of attention to flora.

i don’t like gardening, i don’t like owning plants. all of this comes from my repulsion to touching dirt.

but this morning i finally realized that the backyard has smelled so good for the past week or so because the lilac bushes bloomed.

today was bizarro because i was sick of the yard looking ugly, so i weeded.

until one of the seed pods from the morning glory monster weed ate my hands and made me bleed.

then i decided i was done communing with nature. nature, however is not done with me, and i still have one of the spines in my finger. 3 nurses and a hypodermic needle* couldn’t get it out.

*this was at easter dinner where there were 3 nurses present – i didn’t go to the ER for a splinter

6 responses to “lilacs in bloom

  1. LILACS!!!! My favorite flower. They even smell purple. I grew up with lilacs in my yard and I don’t know if it’s a combination of nostalgia and fragrance, but they’re irresistable.

  2. Some Agent Orange might rid your yard of those weeds. It would probably wipe out the lilacs, also. It might imperil the health of you and your neighbors. Maybe you can risk the splinters.

  3. uhm, you spent easter with 3 nurses? just in case of injury?

  4. heatherfeather

    my aunt and 2 of her nurse friends helped me celebrate easter.

    and in case of injury.

  5. what does purple smell like?
    hahaha, heatherfeather doesn’t like dirt. what a gurl!

  6. heatherfeather

    ami- not so much gurly as crazy.

Leave a Reply

